## Acknowledgements

This edited volume has materialised through the generous effort of several individuals and collectives. The editor would like to convey thanks and appreciation to the following:

Prof. J.A. Smit and the team, for accepting the manuscript for publication in the *Alter*nation African Scholarship Book Series (AASBS) Volume #11, and for providing critical guidelines and support for the production of the volume.

To members of the 1860 Indentured Labourers Foundation, Verulam. for their sterling efforts in creating awareness in the community of the Indian society ... paving the way to pay homage and commemorate the contributions, sacrifices and achievements of the legacy that our forebears initiated in contributing to our Rainbow Nation through courage, valour, perseverance and determination.

To the authors who made a sterling effort to ensure that their work is in the public domain and for maintaining an academically high standard.

To my colleagues for their support and encouragement.

The international reviewers of the book, Professor Ruben Gowricharn, Netherlands, and Professor Vijoy Sahay, India, for their critical and helpful comments on the manuscript.

Mr. Rajiv K. Singh, my son, for the creative design of the book cover. To my family, for their continuous motivation and enquiry about the progress of the book.

The publisher and copy editor for their patience in revising the layout of the book in its different phases.

The different chapter reviewers who uncompromisingly scrutinised the works of the authors so that it deserves scholarly merit.

AASBS Volume #06 DOI: https://doi.org/10.29086/978-0-9869937-1-8/2022/AASBS11

## Acknowledgements

Thank you very much for your dedication, collegiality and excellence.

Dr. Patrick Bashizi Bashige Murhula University of Walter Sisulu. Prof. Sultan Khan University of KwaZulu-Natal Prof. Shanta Balgobind Singh University of KwaZulu-Natal Dr. Gerelene Jagganath University of KwaZulu-Natal Dr. Nomakhosi Nomathemba Sibisi University of KwaZulu-Natal Ms. Philisiwe Nicole Hadebe University of KwaZulu-Natal Dr. Londeka Ngubane University of KwaZulu-Natal Dr. Kogielam Keerthi Archary University of South Africa Dr. Jayanathan Govender University of KwaZulu-Natal